Kampot (Khmer: ខេត្តកំពត) is a (south west province) province (khaet) of Cambodia. It borders the provinces of Koh Kong and Kampong Speu to the north, Takeo and Kep and Vietnam to the east and Sihanoukville to the west. To its south it has a coastline of around 45 km on the Gulf of Thailand. It is rich in low arable lands and has abundant natural resources. Its capital is Kampot town.

Kampot Province had a population of 627,884 in 2010 and consist of eight districts divided into 92 communes with a total of 477 villages. Touk Meas City is located in Kampot Province.

Under 19th century French colonial administration Kampot became a regional administrative center with the status of a state border district as a result of the delimitation of the Kingdom of Cambodia. The Circonscription Résidentielle de Kampot contained the arrondissements of Kampot, Kompong-Som, Trang and Kong-Pisey.

In 1889 French colonial census reports a multi-ethnic community: Kampot town consisted of „Cambodian Kampot“ on the Prek-Kampot River and „Chinese Kampot“ on the right riverbank of the west branch of the Prek-Thom River. Nearby was also a Vietnamese village, called Tien-Thanh and another Vietnamese village on Traeuy Koh Island. A Malay also existed on Traeuy Koh Island. Additional villages of mixed ethnicity are listed.

Khmer Rouge era
Destruction and mass murder happened throughout the whole area of Kampot province, as the Cambodian genocide and bloody massacres engulfed Kampot province under the terror of Khmer Rouge rule. A total 90,450 persons were massacred throughout the province.

Ta Mok himself massacred 30,000 people in the Angkor Chey District of Kampot.

Kampot Black Pepper is a specialized product, protected by GI law, totaling 13 ha and a harvesting area of 10.50 ha located in Domnak Kantoul, Kang Tboung Commune, Kompong Trach District.
Durian, another specialized product totaling 537 ha and yielding 10,657 tons located in Makbrang Commune, Tek Chhou district.
Rubber, plantation area: 20 ha
Cambodia sea salt: produced from natural sea water in a four-stage production process, cultivation area is 4,475.94 hectares, yields are approximately 140,000 tons per year.
Forestry and mining
Forestry area: 227,154 ha
48 Mineral production and mining areas

Historical/cultural areas: 4 places
Wildlife sanctuaries and protected areas: Preah Monivong National Park at 140,000 hectares

Kampot is the base for trips up the Dâmrei and Bokor Mountains.

Tourists can also visit a pepper plantation. „La Plantation“ (French) was created by a couple, Nathalie Chaboche and Guy Porre who revive the pepper tradition and employ the local population. Guests can walk in the fields, take part in the pepper tasting, try meals with the different types of pepper and buy some souvenirs and gifts.

The province is subdivided into 8 districts.

Angkor Chey
Banteay Meas
Chum Kiri
Dang Tong
Kampong Trach
Tuek Chhou
Krong Kampot